Everything Happens For A Reason

So maybe everything does happen for a reason. Maybe every breakup, every relapse, every broken heart and misstep happens because it’s leading you to something better, to something more worthwhile. I don’t know for sure, but I have faith in it. You have to have faith, this much I know

Thought Catalog

Adam EvansAdam Evans

I have become one of those people who believes that old, clichéd credo: “Everything happens for a reason.”

I always eschewed this idea. I thought you made your own fate. I thought that every action has a reaction, and that the things you did were up to you. You planned and plotted the course of your life. There was no such thing as destiny, or fate.

But now, I’m not so sure. It’s not that I believe that God, or whatever, has some plan for everyone. I don’t believe that for a second, actually. But I do believe – am coming to believe, really – that things happen in the way they’re supposed to.

I don’t want to say that terrible things like cancer and violence happen for a reason. That is simply not true. I don’t think a higher power gives those hurdles to people who can…

View original post 310 more words

Leave a Reply

